Automatic removal of duplicate content within RSS readers?

I have around 80 or so RSS feeds that I subscribe to and actively read with Google Reader. I would say about half of these are technology related. Many of the feeds have entries that report the exact same news stories more often than not. I don’t want to remove the feeds because even though they do produce duplicate entries, they also have original content and news.

The solution to this problem: RSS readers should intelligently filter duplicate content within the RSS feeds that you subscribe to. If you have 5 different RSS feeds that post “Citrix has acquired such and such company” then I only want to see that post one time. Now this setting largely depends on whether the feeds are simple news postings or include opinionated content in addition to news. Some blogs are simply news postings where others have interesting tidbits, content, opinions, etc. I subscribe to both and both have their place and usefulness, but I would likely only want the news feeds to be filtered as such so the feature would need to be customizeable and trainable.

 I strictly use Google Reader for feed reading, so I am curious, do other feed readers have this feature and is it customizeable? I really like Google Reader other than the fact it does not allow this.

~ by mindsecure on July 3, 2007.

4 Responses to “Automatic removal of duplicate content within RSS readers?”

  1. Maybe you should take a look at Yahoo! Pipes. It allows you to join RSS feeds to one feed and remove duplicates. Then split the feeds again or inject tags and sort these out in your RSS reader.

    http://pipes.yahoo.com/

  2. Thanks for the suggestion Marcel. I will definately take a look at that. Seems like a feature all RSS readers should have.

  3. I’ll have to second Marcel’s recommendation for Yahoo! Pipes. I use it to (try to) stay abreast of virtualization-related news and developments by combining various tag searches with RSS feeds and then stripping out the duplicates. Seems to work well so far.

  4. Has anyone considered how all this hardware abstraction will affect BIOS as we know it today?

    It seems to me that “ESX Lite” could/should be combined with BIOS to create some kind of “AIOS”.

    Having a well-defined/designed environment for device manufacturers to create device drivers for, would be an incredible boost for computing in general.

    Something like what I’m describing is well overdue

Leave a Reply

 
